The DoD Cyber Workforce Framework (DCWF)

The DoD Cyber Workforce Framework (DCWF)

The DoD Cyber Workforce Framework (DCWF) plays a crucial role in supporting various workforce management and planning activities across the Department of Defense. One of its key functions is facilitating uniform identification, tracking, and reporting, as required by the Federal Cybersecurity Workforce Assessment Act of 2015.

The DCWF describes the work performed by the full spectrum of the cyber workforce, as defined in DoD Directive 8140.01. It leverages the original National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE) Cybersecurity Workforce Framework (NCWF) and the DoD Joint Cyberspace Training and Certification Standards (JCT&CS).

The DCWF further breaks down the spectrum of the cyber workforce into seven categories, which include:

  1. Security Provision
  2. Operate and Maintain
  3. Protect and Defend
  4. Analyze
  5. Operate and Collect
  6. Oversee and Govern
  7. Investigate

All seven categories are comprised of a (current) total of 59 Work Roles. Each work role has a defined set of knowledge, skills, and abilities (KSAs) required for the role. The full list of categories, work roles and KSAT’s can be found here. Implementation requirements are outlined in DoD Manual 8140.03.

The DCWF is an important tool within the Department of Defense that can help leaders better identify cybersecurity talent gaps, develop training and development programs to close those gaps, and ensure that cybersecurity personnel have the necessary skills and abilities to perform their roles effectively.

Key Differences between DoD Directive 8140.03 and the DCWF

DoD Directive 8140.03 and the Defense Cyber Workforce Framework (DCWF) serve different purposes within the U.S. Department of Defense’s cybersecurity workforce.

DoD Directive 8140.03 is the overarching policy that outlines the requirements for training, certification, and management of the DoD’s cybersecurity workforce. It also provides guidance regarding implementation and reporting requirements to DoD agencies.

The Defense Cyber Workforce Framework (DCWF) is a practical tool that maps the required skills and knowledge for the universe of cybersecurity jobs. It is a set of standardized job categories and descriptions that serve as a reference for job titles, tasks, and responsibilities.

The framework allows DoD cyber leadership to identify skill gaps, prioritize training, and measure workforce development.

DoD Directive 8140.03 is the policy and the manual for cybersecurity workforce requirements, while the DCWF provides a framework for organizing and developing the skills and knowledge needed for specific cybersecurity job roles in the DoD.

Request Live Demo Request Pre-Recorded Demo